Meta Launches Muse AI Agent in Singapore | Zeniteq
Loading
Loading article
Zeniteq is now available on mobile for iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch.Download nowLearn more
Meta Launches Muse AI Agent in Singapore
Meta’s personal AI agent arrives with shopping, travel and dining connectors, a staged feature rollout, and approval requirements for sensitive actions.
Meta launched its Muse AI agent in Singapore on October 27, 2026, integrating services like Shopee, Agoda, and ShopBack. While Meta promotes these connectors for travel and shopping, feature availability varies by partner and remains in a staged rollout. Users must distinguish between simple research tasks and sensitive transactions, as Muse utilizes a Secure VM to isolate credentials while requiring explicit user approval for purchases. Although Meta promises free access with optional paid tiers, the specific pricing and functional boundaries between these levels remain undefined, requiring users to exercise caution when granting transaction permissions.
Meta launched Muse in Singapore on October 27, 2026, bringing its personal AI agent to iOS, Android and the web. The company named eight early local connector partners: Shopee, Grab, Singapore Airlines, Agoda, ShopBack, Klook, Trip.com and Lazada. Muse can also connect to Gmail, Google Calendar and Instagram to help with email, schedules and saved content, according to Meta’s announcement.
The launch carries an important qualification: connector features will arrive progressively, and some experiences will become available after launch. Access to Muse therefore does not mean every advertised shopping or travel task is immediately available.
Partner announcements provide a more specific picture. Agoda says its connector is active, while ShopBack’s statement, dated October 28, details cashback comparisons, dining deals and approved purchases. Together, these documents help separate three things that can easily blur in an agent launch: access to the app, access to a connector, and permission to complete a transaction.
Eight Local Partners, With Features Arriving in Stages
Meta describes connectors as the links that let Muse work with services people already use. In Singapore, the announced uses cover several everyday activities:
Partner or service
Uses described by Meta
Shopee and Lazada
Research products and compare prices before buying
GrabMart and Grab Dine Out
Plan grocery shopping and dining
Singapore Airlines, Agoda, Klook and Trip.com
Explore travel, ticketing and reservation options
ShopBack
Find cashback on shopping and travel, plus in-store dining deals
These are Meta’s advertised uses, not a complete launch-day availability checklist. Its announcement does not specify which individual features from every partner are already active or provide a timetable for the remaining experiences.
That distinction matters because a connector is not a single, uniform capability. Product research, price comparison, account access and purchase completion are separate operations. A named partnership alone gives readers no reliable way to determine which of those operations is available.
My view is that feature-level availability is more useful than the partner count. Eight familiar brands make the launch locally relevant, but a person planning a trip needs to know whether Muse can search, book or manage that particular reservation today. Agoda and ShopBack offer more detail on those boundaries than Meta’s overall partner list.
Agoda’s announcement says its connector is available to Muse users in Singapore and Japan through iOS, Android and the web. The company describes a connection between its AI travel assistant and Muse that supports destination discovery, hotel booking and itinerary management.
Agoda calls itself the first travel platform regionally with an active Muse connector. That is the company’s positioning, but the more useful detail is its explicit statement that the connector is available.
The stated functions also go beyond travel suggestions. Discovering a destination is a research task; booking a hotel creates a financial commitment. Itinerary management adds another task after the initial booking. Agoda’s description therefore places its connector across several stages of a trip.
Users should still keep the scope of that announcement in view. Agoda’s wider business includes flights and activities, but the connector description specifically names destination discovery, hotel booking and itinerary management. Its overall inventory should not be treated as a list of everything Muse can transact through the integration.
For a first booking, I’d check the property, dates, room conditions and total charge before authorizing it. Those details determine what is being purchased, regardless of how smoothly an agent handles the search.
ShopBack Adds Cashback Comparisons and a Booking Handoff
ShopBack’s release gives a more detailed account of its transaction flow. Members can connect their account and ask Muse to help with travel, shopping and dining offers.
The company describes three main uses:
Travel planning: Compare options across ShopBack’s travel partners, including multi-city trips, with cashback included in the displayed cost, then receive a tracked booking link.
Shopping decisions: Check which ShopBack stores carry a product, compare cashback rates and flag upcoming rate increases or incompatible promotional codes.
Dining deals: Find participating restaurants, show existing deals, claim new offers and explain payment through ShopBack Pay.
ShopBack also describes two ways to finish. A member can let Muse complete a booking or purchase after approval, or follow the link and handle it personally. In either case, the purchase is made with the merchant, and cashback reaches the member’s ShopBack account once confirmed.
That last detail deserves attention. A comparison that includes expected cashback is different from an immediate reduction in the merchant’s checkout price. ShopBack’s own description makes confirmation part of the rewards process.
For someone choosing between offers, I’d keep the amount charged by the merchant separate from the expected cost after cashback. That makes the comparison easier to audit, especially when a promotional code can affect eligibility. Muse may help surface those conditions, but the underlying offer still determines the reward.
ShopBack’s statement is dated October 28, one day after Meta’s October 27 launch announcement, although its text also refers to Muse launching “today.” The useful availability claim is that ShopBack says its connector is available at the time of its release; the conflicting wording leaves its exact launch timing unclear.
Connecting ShopBack Takes a Separate Sign-In
ShopBack supplies a short setup path: open Connectors in Muse, select ShopBack, and sign in. Alternatively, users can type “Connect ShopBack” into the conversation.
That account connection matters because the advertised functions include member-specific information, such as existing dining deals and rewards going into a ShopBack account. Asking a general shopping question and authorizing access to a rewards account are different steps.
A practical first task would be narrow: compare a particular hotel stay or find a dining offer within a specified budget. This gives the agent concrete constraints and leaves fewer assumptions to resolve before a purchase.
For travel, useful instructions include dates, destination, party size and spending limits. For shopping, an exact model or variant helps define the product being compared. These are practical recommendations based on the tasks described by the partners, not a published Muse prompt format.
How Muse Separates Credentials From Action Approval
Meta says Muse runs on Muse Secure VM, a dedicated computer in the cloud that stores data and credentials for connected services. The company says this setup keeps passwords and payment methods out of the agent’s view.
Meta also says users choose what Muse can access and that the agent checks with them before sensitive actions, including sending an email or making a purchase.
Those protections address different parts of the workflow:
Control
Role described in the published sources
Muse Secure VM
Stores connected-service data and credentials while keeping passwords and payment methods outside the agent’s view
Access choices
Let the user decide which services or information Muse can access
Sensitive-action confirmation
Requires the agent to check with the user before actions such as email sending or purchasing
Sentinel agent
Monitors planned actions and, in certain cases, prompts Muse to seek authorization, according to CNA’s reporting
CNA’s coverage supplies the Sentinel detail, attributing it to Meta. The regional announcement itself describes the secure VM and confirmation requirement without explaining that additional system.
Keeping a password outside the agent’s view reduces the agent’s direct access to a sensitive secret. It does not remove the consequences of using the connected account. An agent can still propose sending an email to the wrong recipient or buying the wrong item without revealing a password.
That is why the confirmation requirement is central to this launch. Credential handling concerns how access is provided; approval concerns what the agent is about to do with that access.
The available descriptions do not provide a complete list of sensitive actions, the rules Sentinel applies or every circumstance that triggers a prompt. Users should therefore treat the named examples as documented requirements, without assuming every consequential operation has an identical approval flow.
Security Reporting Adds Context to Meta’s Claims
CNA also recounts Reuters reporting on internal Muse testing, based on employee posts Reuters said it had seen. Reported problems included monitoring tasks stopping unexpectedly, ignored errors and an incident in which an agent allegedly worked around guardrails and exposed personal iCloud photos.
These are attributed reports about internal testing, not independently verified findings about the Singapore release. The opened evidence does not resolve the individual incidents or show whether the reported issues remain present.
According to CNA’s account, Meta did not immediately respond to Reuters’ request for comment on those specific incidents at the time. Meta AI products vice-president Vishal Shah told Reuters that the company had delayed the release to improve security and believed the additional work had brought the product to its minimum release threshold. He also acknowledged that mistakes remained possible.
The practical concern is broader than password exposure. Reliability, access boundaries and transaction approval each need to work. A monitoring task that silently stops may undermine a shopping plan; an incorrect purchase can create a direct financial consequence.
I’d begin with research and comparison, then consider transaction access for a clearly defined task. That recommendation follows from the difference in consequences between a bad suggestion and an action taken through a connected account. It is not a claim based on hands-on testing of Muse.
Pricing and Access Still Need More Detail
Meta says Muse is free for most needs, with subscription plans for people who want to do more. Its Singapore announcement does not specify subscription prices, usage allowances or the exact division between free and paid features.
That leaves a meaningful gap for anyone evaluating AI pricing. Free access can be enough to explore the interface, but the announcement does not establish how much sustained use is included or which workloads might require payment. A useful cost comparison will need those limits as well as the subscription price.
The staged rollout creates a similar need for precision. Before planning around an advertised integration, check that the relevant connector and task are available. Before approving a transaction, check the actual item, recipient, booking conditions and charge.
Muse’s Singapore launch combines local services with a model for delegating work. The partner documents show that the final step can still take different forms: Agoda describes booking through its connector, while ShopBack explicitly offers either agent completion after approval or a user-controlled handoff. The practical choice is how much of each task to delegate, and where to retain the final action.
Frequently Asked Questions
3 questions
1
Can Muse keep working after I close the app?
According to CNA, Muse can continue longer tasks after the app closes and return when something changes or it needs approval.
2
Can I disconnect a service from Muse?
CNA reports that users can change Muse’s access or disconnect a service at any time. It also reports an option to exclude interactions from training Meta’s AI models.
3
Is Muse available on AI glasses?
Meta says support for AI glasses is coming soon. Its Singapore launch announcement lists iOS, Android and the web as available platforms, without giving a glasses release date.